What’s Really Important: Diet, Exercise, Weight Loss and Blogging

Seated StephanieAlthough I’ve been blogging here since 2010, this is the first post you’re seeing on my blog.

I’m not going to get into every reason why right now, but I’ve decided to start fresh. I have to share the verse that hit me last fall and has stuck with me for over a year:

Since this is the kind of life we have chosen, the life of the spirit, let us make sure that we do not just hold it as an idea in our heads or a sentiment in our hearts, but work out its implications in every detail of our lives. That means we will not compare ourselves with each other as if one of us were better and another worse. We have far more interesting things to do with our lives. Each of us is an original.  Galatians 5:25-26 (MSG)

I used this verse as a filter for my areas of interest and what I’ve talked to people about over my eight years in the fitness industry: diet, exercise, and weight loss. For the past year, I’ve been contemplating:

  • What is really important in terms of how I spend my time?
  • What is really important in terms of what people need or want to read?

I definitely don’t have this completely sorted out, but now feel more sure about what I want to say and not say.

Knowing that we are all fearfully, wonderfully, uniquely made:

Our bodies are all different.

We know we have a unique set of genetics. We’re not going to be the same weight, same shape, etc. Let’s not waste time trying to achieve what the media has airbrushed and marketed as “the perfect body”. Don’t be deceived, there are no eating/exercise tips or tricks that will transform you into looking like someone else. My 5’4″ body will never have legs that look like the model on the cover of the fitness magazines in the grocery store, no matter how many lunges I do.

I’m tired of seeing so much discontent among women (and men) concerning their bodies and weight. It’s time to stop comparing and endlessly obsessing, constantly thinking we could lose just a few more pounds or make our stomachs flatter. We have far more interesting things to do with our lives. Each of us is an original.

Our bodies will respond differently to food and exercise. 

Although it’s common, I don’t think it’s appropriate to view dietary or exercise guidelines as rules to follow. Maybe you need to cut out sugar, dairy, or gluten…and maybe you don’t. I can’t tell you exactly how many calories you need to eat, sorry!

Our bodies are just a (very important) part.

Our weight or waist size isn’t going to be recorded on our tombstone or in our life’s greatest achievements. Our spirits will live forever, but our bodies will not – how much of our time, energy, and thoughts are we devoting to the temporary and impermanent; time and energy that could perhaps be used for more useful things?

Our bodies do play a very important part, however. Without physical health and vitality we won’t be able to fulfill our purpose and calling. Discovering how to eat, move, and live healthy is my passion, and it’s what I will continue to blog about.

Going forward, I intend to blog about what I’m experiencing right now:

  • Living healthy as a mom of young kids
  • Prenatal/pregnancy wellness
  • Postpartum (and beyond) eating, exercise, and survival tips

I know this won’t be applicable to everyone who’s read the blog in the past, but I know it will be for many. You can manage your subscription by visiting www.stephaniechodges.com and clicking on the right side bar.

I always welcome, and would love to hear, your comments, questions, struggles, and tips that have helped you along the way – do you have any to share?

3 thoughts on “What’s Really Important: Diet, Exercise, Weight Loss and Blogging

    1. stephaniechodges Post author

      I agree, whatever you’re focused on you’ll be drawn towards. If you’re focusing on not eating, it’s all you’ll think about. I tell people to focus what you DO want to eat (healthy, nutritious foods) rather than what you don’t. Also, don’t make food and weight loss your primary concern in life. Focus on your hobbies, loved ones, etc more than your diet and weight loss routine.

      Reply
  1. Naomi

    I totally agree with you! I, too, am frustrated with the competitive nature of diet and exercise. This year, I really want to focus on being MY best, not someone else’s idea of what I should be. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

